The risk in social media grow as the number of users increases on a daily basis. You often don’t know half the people that follow you, and you could even have someone stalking you.

Instagram, which is a free photo and video online platform on iPhone and Android allow people to upload photos or videos and share them with their followers or with a select group of friends. They can also view, comment, and like posts shared by their friends on Instagram. As with most social networks, Instagram’s default setting allows your profile and posts to be seen by any other user. 

One could argue that Instagram is a social media network like no other. Instead of words, the platform is built almost entirely around sharing images and videos. Anyone 13 and olderYou can take, edit, and publish visual content for your followers to interact with thorough likes, comments, and shares create an account by registering an email address and selecting a username.

With Instagram’s standard personal account settings, anyone in the world can see your Instagram profile and any and all photo or video content that you post to the social service. However, it is possible to enjoy a more private Instagram experience.

If you’re sharing photos of your children, or images that reveal your home, or if you’re just a private person, you may wish to protect your profile from snooping eyes. You can choose to make your Instagram account private. This means that only other Instagram users that you’ve approved can see your content.

Things to Keep in Mind About Private Accounts.

  • Private posts you share to social networks may be visible to the public depending on your privacy settings for those networks. For example, a post you share to Twitter that was set to private on Instagram may be visible to the people who can see your Twitter posts.
  • Once you make your account private, people will have to send you a follow request to see your posts, your followers list or your following list.
  • Follow requests appear in  Activity, where you can approve or ignore them.
  • If someone was already following you before you set your posts to private and you don’t want them to see your posts, you can block them.
  • People can send a photo or video directly to you even if they’re not following you.

How to Make Your Instagram Page Private

As social networks continue to grow, being active on them can be risky. You often don’t know half the people that follow you, and you could even have someone stalking you.

This possibility is especially terrifying on media-only platforms like Instagram which are engineered to urge you and others to discover more users by putting your pictures and videos on display through the Explore tab.

However, it is possible to enjoy a more private Instagram experience. So, if you’re worried you’re sharing too much on Instagram, here are some tips to help you enjoy a more private Instagram experience;

Unlink Your Facebook Profile

There’s a good chance that you’re active on Facebook and Instagram for different purposes. The former enables you to stay in touch with your family and friends, while the latter is probably more for updates you’re not comfortable sharing with people you know in real life. 

Therefore, the first step towards a more isolated Instagram experience is to unlink your Facebook profile from Instagram. That way Facebook won’t be able to inter-share both your profiles’ data too, for instance, let your acquaintances on Facebook know you’re on Instagram. The ultimate option to cocoon yourself away from Instagram’s huge user base is to simply make your account private. You can then cherry-pick who can follow you and view your stories or posts.

Set Your Instagram Account To Private

the ultimate option to cocoon yourself away from Instagram’s huge user base is to simply make your account private. You can then cherry-pick who can follow you and view your stories or posts. 

To turn your Instagram profile private, go into the Settings and switch on the Private Account option. Do note that your existing followers won’t be affected, therefore you may want to check on your Followers list to ensure only the people you know have access to your gallery.

Pick And Choose Your Close Friends

Private profiles come with their own downsides. You won’t have a large follower count or users like your relatives might constantly bug you to let them in. To counter those issues, we recommend curating a Close Friends list through which you can share your stories to a specific set of users without upsetting the rest of your followers. 

This feature makes sure you can share more personal moments without worrying about your parents or even strangers watching them, all while still maintaining a public profile. To configure the list, tap the Close Friends option located in your profile’s hamburger menu. 

Under the Your List tab, add or remove your close friends. The page even has a Suggestions tab where Instagram recommends users for you to add to the Close Friends list based on how frequently you interact with them. Once done, you will have a green option before publishing a new story. Select that to share it only with users who are in your Close Friends list. In addition, down the road, if you want to remove a person from the list, you can do so easily since Instagram won’t alert them.

Take Control Of Your Stories

The truth is story controls Instagram. If you’d like to establish more stringent rules for who can watch or even reshare your stories, there are a ton of options for that too. To access them, head into Story Controls inside Settings. To block any user from viewing your stories, add them through the first option. You can also disable sharing that lets anyone reshare your stories or forward them as direct messages. If you have a public profile, you even have the ability to ban replies from everyone or a specific set of people.

Disable Your Activity Status

Unlike Facebook Messenger or WhatsApp, you’re most likely not using Instagram DMs for anything more than forwarding pictures and memes to your friends. Hence, there’s clearly no need for the last-seen status on Instagram and it’s best for you to switch it off. The option to disable the last-seen status on Instagram is located at Settings > Activity Status.

Tweak Your Comment Controls

With over a billion users, Instagram can be occasionally negative and spammy just like every other social network. If your profile faces these issues far too often, try tweaking your comment controls. Instagram lets you decide who can and cannot comment on your pictures. 

You could go either way—create a whitelist if you only want a few people leaving comments on your posts or a blacklist for prohibiting some users and allowing the rest. The option to do this is situated in settings under Comment Controls. What’s more, you can enable filters for automatically hiding offensive comments or manually add a set of words and phrases you’d like to block.

How do you make your Instagram account private on an iPhone?

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Tap the icon to access your Profile, which looks like a person’s head and shoulders.
  3. Tap the three lines at the top right of the screen, then tap the Settings icon, which looks like a cog (it’s in the bottom right of the screen).
  4. Tap Privacy and seucirty > Account privacy and then turn on the Private Account setting.

How do you make your Instagram account private on a Windows phone?

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Tap the icon to access your Profile, which looks like a person’s head and shoulders.
  3. Tap the Settings icon, which looks like a cog.
  4. Turn on the Private Account setting.

How do you make your Instagram account private on an Android phone?

  1. Open the Instagram app.
  2. Tap Profile, which looks like a person’s head and shoulders.
  3. Tap the Settings icon which looks like three vertical dots.
  4. Turn on the Private Account setting.

Read Also

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here